I hate schedules.  Actually, it's scheduling I dislike.  However, scheduling is part of having a school lab run smoothly.  One of my major goals for this year seems simple enough:  Have classroom teachers sign up on our shared electronic calendar when they need the lab.  This means setting up calendars for each lab, getting district permission for all teachers to have proxy access so that they can schedule themselves.  Then it seemed like a good idea to make a "How To" guide complete with screen shots for teachers.  Next, I decided to schedule an introductory lesson with each class.  (Of course, I'm scheduling these because I haven't gotten to share the "How To" with the teachers.)  And, if there is going to be an introductory lesson, I should set the lab up in a way that utilizes time, equipment, and management most efficiently.  Let's not forget that we have to be sure that each student is even in the "system," or even those that are may need to be added to various programs, such as keyboarding.  That's not even considering how to look up or change passwords for those that can't remember or that Kindergarteners just need to learn to use a mouse and click.

I feel pretty good about some of the systems I've set up such as using the red Solo cups  for those that need help or to mark which computers may be on the fritz as opposed to the green ones that signify all's well at that station.  (Toby Keith, you missed this use in your song...Maybe I should write one for teachers???)  I also have each student using the same computer number (yes, I'm making a list of these for each class) so computers can boot up faster or so I can pinpoint students who may be using them incorrectly or inappropriately.  

My district requires that 3rd through 5th graders learn to keyboard through 45 minutes of practice a week.  No problem, right?  There are programs galore out there that do this.  (Our district uses learning.com).  However, it is going to take more than a program to get kids to learn this...hence, the "practice to learn, not finish" lesson.

Although I see the point in all of this, especially at the beginning of the year with changes in the way things have always been done, I can't help but revert back to my age-old mantra of "I need to feel like I'm impacting student or teacher learning."  My need to make a difference has gotten more profound as I get older, not less.  Why, I don't know.  Right now, I'm going to have to trust that those baby steps I'm taking are getting someone somewhere.  Next big challenge:  communicating with teachers.  Maybe those steps will be a little steeper...



Leave a Reply.

    PictureDebbie Rohlmeier





    Author

    *  Digital Literacy Coach - Lovejoy Elementary, Lovejoy ISD, Allen, TX
    Teacher - 20 years, last 10 years in gifted education
    * Staff Developer - Technology, Brain, 21st Century Learning, Curriculum UBD, Instruction, Gifted and Talented, Differentiation
    * Mom - 1st Year teacher who is now my colleague (so proud); twins who are college freshman
    * Volunteer

    Archives

    October 2012
    August 2012

    Categories

    All
    Digital Literacy Coach
    Ed Tech